The God of Relationships 

God wants to be included in everything that we do. He especially wants to be apart of our relationships. We need God to be in our marriages and our families. Marriage is sacred and holy if we include God in it. I’m finally learning how necessary that reallly is. It’s been said that your relationship with God, or lack there of, is oftentimes reflected in your most personal relationships.

It’s easy to take people for granted and it’s even easier to do that with those closest to you. Consider it a gift when you wake up one morning and you realize how blessed you really are. Consider it God trying to send you a message when He let’s you feel that way for weeks at a time. That’s been the case with me. I know God has allowed me to see my blessings not just for my benefit but for the benefit of my family. God gives you the spouse you have and the kids you made for a reason and it has to be more than just to make yourself happy. God gives you your unique marriage and children to have a purpose as a family on this earth. I’m not going to lie I feel pretty bored and burnt out with my family life sometimes. It can be difficult to take care of people on a constant basis. But I’ve come to the realization that those low points shouldn’t be the norm for me or my husband. Married life and family life are about renewal and finding joy even when the universe feels like it’s out to get you. I’m learning that my family is my sanctuary and my spouse is the one person I can count on. However, it has to be mutual. I have to be there for him every day even when I don’t have it in me. That’s where faith and trust in God comes in. I couldn’t give my family what they need and what my husband needs without having a relationship with a God who cares so much about relationships. God is a god in three persons because relationship is the basis of life. We are meant to be in communion and not alone. God chose Mary and Joseph to see His only Son into this world and raise Him in a family because that is what life is about. The purpose of our lives is to be with other people and to be a source of unconditional love for those placed in our care.

God doesn’t want me to walk this earth alone. He’s proved that by giving me a wonderful husband and four beautiful kids. I often doubt my ability to do what he’s asked me to do. It’s terrifying having that much responsibility. God won’t let me fall flat on my face. He knows my struggles and he knows my dreams. He knows what my family needs before I even ask for the help to care for them. God is a god who cherishes family life. He cherishes those quiet moments with your spouse. He loves the joyful noise your children make. He rejoices in your accomplishments and shares in your misery.

I often reflect back on the times when my children were just born. I really understood God’s love for me in those moments of watching my husband hold our just born child for the first time. My husband would sit in the rocking chair in our hospital room and look at that baby like it was the only human in the world. I could sense the love and devotion he had towards that child just by that one look. I will never forget that moment he had with each one of our children. It hit me that that’s how God loves each one of us. He loves us as if we were the only person in the entire world. When you have that knowledge, not just in your head but in your heart, it changes your whole outlook on your relationships and what they really mean. Your love for someone can only take you so far but once you invite the God of Love into your live you can accomplish anything and your family will not only survive but will thrive in this world.

God is the god of relationships and may he bless each of us and our beautiful families.

Leave a Reply

